Durham, County Durham

The second part of my trip with Blue Sky coach travel was an afternoon in Durham. We had longer here and finally the sun had come out. Initially I didn’t like it. I went on a Saturday, people were out in force and I couldn’t find anywhere to eat. I suffer from severe anxiety and all the above are triggers for me to have panic attacks. It took me about half an hour to finally find somewhere quiet enough to feel relaxed – The Cafe on the Green next door to the cathedral. One of those places that have no concept of simple food & charge £6.50 for a sandwich but it suited my needs. Refreshed and less stressed I went to see the main reason for my visit – Durham Cathedral or The Cathedral Church of Christ, Blessed Mary the Virgin and St Cuthbert of Durham to give it it’s full name. The place is huge and is now a World Heritage site and originally founded in AD635. I find it fascinating how many of our ancient structure are still standing, even more awe-inspiring to see some of these still in use. I wasn’t allowed to take photo’s of the inside sadly.

Also disappointing was the closure of Durham castle, another place on my must see list. Apparently they were hosting a Bavarian cultural exchange and beer-fest hence the closure. I saw one or two scantily clad bar ‘wenches’ going inside. I wonder if all Bavarian barmaids really do wear such tiny clothes??? Seemed very stereotypical so not sure how much of the cultural exchange was true and how much was there for the students to just have a party??? So it looks like I’ll have to go back and visit this place again too to see the castle. There are also lots of signs to HMP Durham but as it’s a prison still in use I wasn’t so keen to go have a look at that!

 

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

