Travelling the UK the A-Z way

A couple of years ago I set myself a fun challenge to see if I could visit a city, town or village etc in the UK starting with each letter of the alphabet. I had a bit of a break in travel but have been making up for it lately. I’ve noticed when writing this list up I’ve pretty much stayed in England so maybe I need to re-name it and then try and do another using Scotland, Wales & Northern Ireland and Eire???

There are a few letters where I’m struggling to find somewhere so any recommendations would be most grateful 🙂

I’ve made a few other lists that would take a bit longer- a place from each County in the UK and again in each of the Western Countries of Europe. There’s no real reason behind it except a bit of fun and a way of seeing a bit more of my own country and Europe.

This is where I’m at so far:

A – Ambleside, Cumbria

B – Bourton on the Wold, Gloucestershire

C – Chester, Cheshire

D – Durham, County Durham

E –

F – Flamborough, East Riding of Yorkshire

G – Grasmere, Cumbria

H – Haworth, West Yorkshire

I- Ilkley, West Yorkshire

J –

K – Keighley, West Yorkshire

L – Leicester, Leicestershire

M – Moreton on Marsh, Gloucestershire

N – Nottingham, Nottinghamshire

O – Otley, West Yorkshire

P –

Q –

R – Ripon, North Yorkshire

S – Stratford, Warwickshire

T –

U –

V –

W – Windemere, Cumbria

X –

Y – York, North Yorkshire

Z –

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jlytravels
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 20:34:55

    how about Jodrell bank in Cheshire? Where the massive telescope thing is and a space centre?

    Reply

  2. Rosie
    Sep 09, 2016 @ 20:39:37

    Chester is my home town, nice to see it on your list! It has to be said, the second you have an A-Z list it becomes almost impossible to think of place names – but I can suggest Ely (small town not far from Cambridge with a lovely cathedral) and Portmeirion (a gorgeous model village which resembles an Italian seaside town, in North Wales) which is near to Porthmadog (another P!). Really like your idea, definitely challenges you to think outside the box to see a variety of places!

    Reply

    • kirk72
      Sep 09, 2016 @ 20:57:21

      We went to Chester for the Xmas markets but we did get to see a few things there. I really liked it. Ely is down as one to look into. I like the P’s you mentioned. I’ll do some research on travelling to them (I don’t drive). I agree about thinking outside the box. Today I went to 2 market towns in North Yorkshire that I’d never heard of until recently (blog will go up tomorrow). I’ve definitely widened my horizens with this

      Reply

      • Rosie
        Sep 09, 2016 @ 21:11:41

        I think your best bet for getting to either of the P’s is train to Bangor (last stop before the North Wales line continues to Holyhead) and then a bus – Portmeirion is a popular spot, so I should think public transport would be feasible. Look forward to seeing your post on North Yorkshire- I studied in Leeds, finished this summer and miss it already!

      • kirk72
        Sep 10, 2016 @ 14:35:03

        Thank you x

Leave a Reply

Follow me on Twitter

